Coming Soon: Imaginatik the Documentary + Reminiscences of being a student

I just worked with a group of talented students on doing a Masters of Management course at Cass Business School, at the City University (London). I am an alumni of Cass, and I enjoy supporting various programs, certainly more than I did when I had to study and turn in coursework on the undergraduate course.

The students have to make a documentary on Imaginatik, and Idea Central. The formal showing is March 5th in London. I get to attend in person (and I really hope there’ll be a red carpet waiting).

The nice thing is that we get to post the documentary on our soon-to-be-annouced Imaginatik YouTube Channel. This digital world is a great thing.

A word on being a student. When I joined the business school as an undergraduate, the Dean gave an opening speech to all the new students. “You can be smart, or you can be hard wording”, he intoned. “If you are smart, and don’t work hard, you will get a 2:1” (known as an Upper Second class degree). “If you are hard working, and not that smart, you will get a 2:1 as well”. Now at this point, I could see a few options opening up, as I continued to listen. “Only the smartest and most hard working students will get a First Class degree”. And with that, he sat down.

My eighteen year-old brain quickly switched into gear. I knew I had a certain smarts, and could work really hard when needs be. The uncertainty of the end result concerned me, though. What if I worked really hard for three years, and then found out right at the end that I was not smart enough to get a First? All that work for nothing? The disappointment!

So, at that moment, before I had even bought my first textbook, I decided to work as hard as needs be, and be happy at school. And, at the end of my third year, when I was told I had failed to get a First by a fraction of a percent, I did not appeal, I did not cry (although in retrospect an appeal would have been a good idea). Instead I was happy that I had achieved all I wanted to achieve at university, and could now carry on my way in the world, unburdened by large-scale disappointment. There would always be a next time🙂

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

