More History of Imaginatik – "The Newtonville Attic" aka the Deep Dark Days of 2001

Imaginatik’s first offices in the US, opened in 2001, were in Newtonville, MA – a suburb, of a suburb, of Boston.

I had called an old friend from Europe, collaboration pioneer Thierry Hubert, looking for a short term place to stay before I found more permanent digs for myself and the firm on the East Coast.

The ‘office’ was a tiny two room affair. One desk, a mini-fridge (purchased by my mother as a house-warming gift), and a camp bed for me to sleep on. Boris Pluskowski, the first hire during the ‘rebirth’ phase in 2001, only visited the offices a few times: it was 20 minutes out of Boston but with no decent commuter trains, and no car, he found it almost impossible to get to the office.

Fortunately this phase did not last long, and within a couple of months the company was back on track with a spanking new office in the trendy South End of Boston. And me? I finally had enough spare money to buy myself a real bed.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

